PL009 - These Beautiful Minds EP

by ComputerScheisse

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.

      name your price




Say hello to the 9th release on our Phuturelabs label and the debut EP from ComputerScheisse. Available now as a pay-what-you-like download from Bandcamp or as a free download via pay with a tweet.

“These Beautiful Minds” is a five-tracker of fine genre swerving electronica from Edinburgh’s Tommy Perman AKA ComputerScheisse that has picked up support from Numbers’ Jackmaster, Optimo’s JD Twitch and BBC Radio 1′s Ally McCrae amongst many others.

As one-third of FOUND Tommy was responsible for production duties and bass notes on the collective’s three albums and countless singles and remixes. He also contributed brain power to headline-grabbing art projects such as Cybraphon, the world’s first wardrobe based player piano with a soul and #unravel, the collaboration with Aidan Moffat that saw your favourite classic singles played out in front of your eyes by a mechanical robot band feeding on the emotion in the room in real-time.

While the ComputerScheisse hat has been donned in the past, this EP sees its first full length debut.

From the winding pads, mechanically powered drums and infectious robotic vocal snippet of the title track to the beatless two minute bleep excursion that is “Incubation Interlude” via the electro fuelled disco stylings of “Hot’s Hot” to the driving electronica of “Wet”, sounding like the perfect soundtrack to a chess game with Four Tet and Syd Barrett at either side of the table, and finally ending up with the soothing melancholia of “Tuesday Sunshine” it’s a truly wonderful EP that we’re proud to give a home to. Many thanks to S-Type for the brilliant mastering job also.


released July 12, 2013

Written and produced by Tommy Perman. Mastering by Bobby Perman.