PL003 - Medusa EP

by S-Type

  • Streaming + Download




We’re proud to present the third release for our digital label venture. After the success of the first two releases from Wira and Hissy Fit, we welcome Glasgow’s own S-Type into the fold with the “Medusa” EP.

With support from publications such as XLR8R and The List and DJ support coming in thick and fast from Bok Bok, Girl Unit, Jackmaster, Kasrave, Jacques Greene and many more, this is a must have release.

From the insanely catchy hook and crisp beats of the EP’s opener “Mr Lizard”, the listener is treated to an excursion into the head of a young producer at the top of his game. Second track “Terry Nutkins” showcases more amazing beat work and throws an infectious high pitched synth line into the mix while EP closer and title track “Medusa” pitches itself in a slightly more laid back stance but with S-Type’s trademark top drawer beats and hooks packed throughout.

This young producer has impressed us hugely over the past year with his own brand of electronica injected with copious amounts of funk. The 24 year old is influenced by producers such as Justice League, DJ Khalil, Ryan Leslie, The Neptunes, Timbaland, Battlecat, Swindle and Joker and has been producing since the age of 15.

He holds the accolade of winning the first ever Louis Den Beats League, a beat battle that attracts the finest new producers that the world has to offer. Since then, he has developed his sound further to take in elements of crunk and grime, melting everything together to cause dancefloor carnage and break down genre boundaries with ease. He recently performed and gave a talk at the Red Bull Music Academy and 2010 has already seen him produce tracks for vocalists such as Laws, Tek of Smif n Wessun and Emilio Rojas. He finishes the year of in style with the Medusa EP as he steps out from behind the desk to take centre stage.

Artwork for the release has been handled by brilliant Edinburgh artist Tommy Perman and we also very highly recommend checking out his band FOUND.


released December 1, 2010

Written and produced by Bobby Perman.